Rives – The boy who can levitate

The boy who can levitate lives down the street from me
he’s got a mother named ‘mom’ and a stepdad named… lawnmower
he’s got an older brother named ‘why are you hitting yourself? why are you hitting yourself? why are you hitting yourself?

It seems pretty normal over there at the house of the boy who can levitate
Plus the kid has got a seriously nice bicycle
I see him steer it like a circus bear through the neighborhood
and that’s how he managed to run over his own lunch sack
on his way to school somehow a few months back
I came out to juicebox and wonderbread on my sidewalk
with the boy who can levitate doing his finger thing and murmuring
‘that was my favourite, that was my favourite’
And you wonder how long how well you need to know a child
before it’s no longer technically talking to strangers but I asked him
Does your favourite rhyme with eanut utter and elly andwich ?
And the boy who can levitate says
I don’t know, it always changes

The boy who can levitate lives down the street from me
and I remember the bloc party at the parc when that Emily girl
whacked the end of his shish kebab stick and it jabbed into his pallet
like the daintiest harpoon
he had to actually pull it out of himself just to moan
and then a half an hour later when the moms had gone back to the cling wrap
and the other kids of course were playing freeze tag
around the fiberglass animals with the spings beneath them and the laughter
I sat down and asked the boy who can levitate
does it taste like a nose bleed?
and he goes  ‘yeah, like a nose be-leed, only backwards’

The boy who can levite has lived down the street from me ever since…
the first time I noticed him I guess
standing with his back to the turnstile exits at the fairgrounds
and he was just a little guy back then
with a mylar balloon but dead serious, like a sentinel
I passed by with a date
and the boy who can levitate
told us ‘this isn’t magic, it’s a chemical’

The boy who can levitate lives down the street from me
and I like his style
how he often reads curbs for five minutes
throws dirt clots at the airplanes
the way his clothes always seem to fit him sort of weird
like a scarecrow in the field behind an orphanage somewhere
and I liked his halloween costume this year
showing up at my doorstep in his jeans, a t-shirt and blue pair of swimming goggles
saying trick of treat, I am a foooooog

and that’s when I say I saw what I say I saw
and I’m always saying what it is I say I saw all the time now lately
when I check my mailbow or eradicate the dandelions from my flowerbed
and most especially wax my motorcycle on the driveway in the weekend
because ten year olds are attracted to motorcycles like…
men are attracted to motorcycles
did you really see him levitate? do you swear you saw him levitate?
is that why he acts like such a spazz? My sister says it’s bullcrap
we should call the television
is it true? is it true? is it true? is it true?
and I say ‘well you know…’
‘come here’
”The kid didn’t levitate much.
Euh… maybe that far off the ground
but still
it’s that much more than me
and it’s that much more than you’

thank you

