Hello Munich

I arrived in Munich. Well actually I arrived thursday morning but it was after a long and sleepless night (having apparently booked a seat when I thought I had booked a bed for the 10 hour night train ride… Whoever in Marketing came up with the name ‘sleeperettes’ to designate the vaguely reclining seat I got should be hanged from the Reichstag :)

So, here I am. Today is gorgeous and blue and the first day I actually walk the streets armed with my camera and wow. What a city. Monumental architecture pours into the city streets like molten cheese, it is a ‘village’ of epic proportions. People here are very stylish. I mentioned that to Marco, my couch surfing host and he was very surprised about that. Then this morning I wake up only to find him dressed like a hip Prince of Liechtenstein and I couldn’t help but smile of fishes not knowing about water :)

I passed by IDEO and it was amazing. That same morning, I was walking in the streets on a cold morning and wondering what the fuck I was doing here. I was hung up on lack of sleep and the place looked as if Arnold Schwartzeneger had vomited castles here and there. Gothic architecture of a Deep Germany did not scream Welcome Tal right away :) But now the sky is gorgeously blue and everything sparkles and looks amazing and I’m happy to be here :) Oh, the office, has an amazing atmosphere, I was just visiting but within minutes, already contributing post-its to a brainstorm about the stereotypes of different cities (they had Antwerp there, my hometown) and the whole office has a great energy and they said I should come by monday, even though I’m not starting for another week, but every monday they all have breakfast together from ten to eleven so I should come by. 

I may have found a very nice flat located very near the center, in the student neighborhood (which should be the best place to be for me and going out) and if I get it, then my two housemates will be two spaniards who grew up in Germany! I have a feeling I won’t learn much German at home but my Spanish level will soar very soon :) But let’s first see if I get it. 480 euros is not cheap (at all) but my budget somewhat allows for it and it’s nicer than leaving completely out of town and barely experiencing the city (I’ll already be working my ass off day to night so imagine if in my little spare time, I’m stuck 8 metro stops away from the center). So let’s see, I’m visiting the flat this afternoon and I’m very curious.

One thought on “Hello Munich

  1. Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Comments are closed.